Missing directions

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

gwhamilton

Hi All,
I am new to pen turning, a friend gave me quite a few pen kits. Most are not labeled in plastic bags. I am looking for directions that would tell me what bushings I need. He also gave me some bushings but I don't know what kits they are for. I found a document on this site that has some bushing dimensions so maybe I can wok out what they are. Some packages have part numbers but I can't locate anything online. I think they could be old models. One kit that looks nice is a Berea European style series 2000 pen kit. The box my friend gave me has some flyers that talk about new products. The post mark on one flyer is 1996. I can post pictures if that would help identify thekits. Thanks in advance. I have another friend showing me the ropes of pen turning tomorrow, I hope to make 2 more pens.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

You may find this attached file helpful

Attachments

• bushings and tubes.pdf
    200.3 KB · Views: 201

randyrls

There is a archive of web pages at archive.org

Type in the web site name and pick a likely time period. You can probably find the PDF instructions for most pens there.

Look for the Berea model number in the PDF files.

KenV

Keep your expectations in hand. I was making pens in the late '90s and know there have been a number of changes and improvements over the years between then and now.

One of the changes is that clear coat has become common over the less durable platings, especially gold plating. The gold plating from the late 90's looked good for a short while but wore through very quickly.

There were not nearly as many choices, so the field you will be searching will be small.

Some will be the same bushings now as then. Slime line pen bushing have endured virtually unchanged in the basic 7mm configuration.