Mini turning tool recommendations

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

sandking

Hi all,

I am new to turning and have been using full size tools for my pens and bottle stoppers, but sometimes feel like it is a bit overkill. Can someone recommend a mini set that is good. I am putting a Christmas list together and would like to add this. Thanks.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

byounghusband

Joe,
Some of us use the regular size tools like you do.... I use a 1" roughing gouge and a 1" skew for a most of my pens and stoppers. I did go to Harbor Freight and pick up an 8 piece HSS turning set that is a medium size set, 8" handles on it, for about $18 if IIRC. I use it sometimes, but usually go back to the regular tools.

martyb

I've got the Delta mini turning set as well as a set of full size tools. About the only thing I use out of the mini set is the round nose scraper.

Tom McMillan

I now do mostly miniature turnings, and I've ended up having to make a lot of my tools from old screwdrivers, an ice pick, and some dental type tools. I did purchase a set of mini tools from Penn State a couple months ago. The ones I've been using are staying very sharp and I do a lot of turning of miniatures---really, though for pens I use mostly my larger tools. It's a 5 piece mini set I think shown as Benjamin's Best and was only about $25 for the set. There's also a very small 3 piece mini set at Grizzly that I have that has also stayed very sharp.

alamocdc

Joe, I got 3 PSI "pen" tools with my starter kit and very rarely use them on pens. In fact, I ground the gouge to use for bowls and I'm thinking about grinding the 1/2" skew into a modified scraper for use on ornaments.

txbob

Hi Joe,
I generally use larger tools for pens, a 1" skew and a 1 1/4" roughing gouge. You'll find the smaller tools harder to control as they tend to bounce a little more with hard spots in the wood.