Mini or Midi Lathe

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JoeScroller

I am looking at the Carba-Tec Variable Sp Mini lathe and the Turncrafter Commander 10" Variable Sp Midi Lathe as my first lathe just for pen,pencil,stopper turning. Does anyone see any dis or advantages to one or the other?
Thanks so much for your input.
Joe

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

IPD_Mrs

What is the MT and the head stock thread size on both? You want a standard or common size. For me it would be about buying the best quality you can affort. You can cry hard now or you can cry many times in the future.

Rusalka

if you can wait until Black Friday, Woodcraft will have the Rikon 1216 VS lathe on sell for less then $300. Rikon's tech support is the best that i have ever dealt with. For example, they are sending for free a new motor and belt for my 5 year lathe. I have no knowledge of the Turncrafter, but if it is from PSI, i would shy away from it just because i have a beef with PSI after they refused to RMA a factory defective $50 pen kit.

holmqer

Local Chapter Leader
If it's your only lathe, then I would go with a midi, the footprint is very close to a mini so no really shop layout issues. I got my first lathe with the idea that I would be doing pens and maybe stoppers and now make lots of bigger stuff. Having the midi gives you more room for growth if you decide to try other stuff.

dankc908

Usually the mini's have a #1 Morse Taper and the midi's a #2 MT. The #2 is vastly more versatile! I am OK with PSI but I have upgraded my Turncrafter to a JET 1220 VS (both midi's) and relegated the Turncrafter to a buffing station.

OOPS