Mandrels

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

scooter413

I am a newbie at this and now I am hooked. The question I have is how many people use the double mandrel. I have two mandrels and one is an adjustible. I seem to be getting alot of vibration in the pen blanks and alot of what I believe is whip. Is there something I am missing or should I start using a shorter mandrel and do just one part of the pen at a time.[?]

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

KKingery

I have both types of mandrels, (the adjustable), and the "fixed". Both seem to work equally well, but you might want to check out an article by Russ Fairfield about making sure your mandrel is straight. Your mandrel may have a slight bend in it, or you could be tightening your tailstock too tight, causing a slight bow in the mandrel, which will show up as "whip". I used his technique, and it sure solved alot of my problems. If I can find the link to the article, I'll come back and put it in a post for you.

Scott

Hi Scott,

Nice name! ;-)

The surest way to eliminate "whip" is to shorten your mandrel and turn only one barrel at a time. A lot of penturners do this. I don't. I like to be able to see the whole pen on the mandrel so I can visualize how it's going to turn out. So if you insist on using a long mandrel and turning both barrels at the same time, start by buying good mandrels from a reputable source. I usually get my mandrels from Berea, but lately I picked up one of the adjustable mandrels systems from Craft Supplies, and I like it real well.