Mandrel problems, and a question.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Justin H

First and foremost I want to say "Thank you!" to this group and it's members. I'm new here but have been lurking for quite some time.

I'm a newbie making pens, I just recently got my lathe (Thanksgiving-ish) and decided to make some custom pens for family for Christmas... I am now hooked and I can't stop buying kits and blanks and... everything. lol

Anyway, my mandrel question is this.

I have a basic mandrel and a mandrel saver. Most of the single barrel kits require spacer bushings at the head-stock end of my lathe to get the barrels out over my ways so I can turn them far enough away from the head-stock.

Being a newb, I have a tendency to over-tighten my tailstock to stop my blanks from spinning, especially when I forget to turn my lathe speed back up after finishing my last pen....

In doing this, I've managed to jam a spacer bushing hard enough against the head-stock to actually crimp it ON to the mandrel. While hand-turning for with-grain sanding, the mandrel tends to come unthreaded from the MT portion and now that bushing will not allow the mandrel to thread.

Is it worth it for me to purchase another mandrel, or should I, since Christmas is past and gifts are not so time intensive, just learn to turn without it? And what would you suggest for tutorials if I were to do so?

Thanks again for the help, and happy turning!

sbwertz

Have you tried putting the bushing in a vise, drill a piece of wood part way through with a 7mm bit to make a protective cap for the end of the mandrel, and tapping the mandrel shaft out of the bushing with a light hammer or mallet?

OLDMAN5050

Passed Away May 15, 2019
In Memoriam
Mandrel

Could you get a photo of this? I myself do not put to muck pressure on my tailstock to create this problem. It is hard for me to see in my head what you are experiencing....:confused:

Jim Burr

Banned