Maintenance

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Carrick

Hello From Washington State...

I'm pretty new in the major scheme of things. I have been turning for approx. eight months. I have a Jet Mini Lathe, Small Craftsman Drill Press, Tabel Saw, and Miter Saw that I used to do all my work. The thing is I have not sharpened my gouges in the eight months (yes, as you can imagine they're awful to work with right now), or lubricated my tools either. So, does anyone have recommendations for sharpening. I have a spindle gouge, parting gouge, and a fingernail gouge that I use.

All recommendations on how to conduct maintenance and recommended periodicity is greatly appreciated. Any links to recommendations are great too.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
If you have a grinder, you can use that. Or if you need to invest in somthing you can get a slow speed wet grinder resonably. Best thing to do as far as learning how to properly sharpen the tools is to watch a video or go visit one of the local woodworking clubs and they would probably show you.

PaulDoug

Lot of people like the oneway wolverine sharpening setup and the delta grinder. Check out Woodcraft or Craft Supply.

I made my own.

And, welcome from another Washingtonion. Please check out Pacific Northwest Pen Turners Assco at PNPTA.org. Love to have you join there also.

ldb2000

Welcome from Central New Jersey
You should sharpen your tools often as you can , on some materials I will touch up my skew several times a night to keep a scary sharp edge to work with .
Keeping your tools sharp has several advantages , first it makes turning down a blank much easier , second if your tool shears the wood there is less of a chance that you will get "dig ins" and "blow outs" , third if you use a skew you will get a cleaner cut and will have alot less sanding to do and lastly a dull tool is also a dangerous tool to use .