mahogany flooring for pens

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey Everyone.

I'm a locksmith here in LA and I'm working on a house where they are installing solid 3/4x31/2 santos mahogany flooring. This is good for pens? If it is, I'll let you know. The house is about 3000 sq.ft. and it's all hard wood flooring and they are saving all the scraps for me. i guess this is kind of a gloat, yea. i like to share, so i'll guess we'll see what i get. (i do have 4 pieces now):D

laurie

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

alamocdc

Laurie, I've made a few Mahogany pens on request. It turns nice, but finding it figured is where I've had difficulty. Larger pieces make beautiful turnings and using small pieces for segmented stuff works well.

GreggR

I like mahogany, and always cut it diagonal to the grain because there is so little figure. It makes pretty turnings with a clear finish, and I used a pure purple artist oil paint on it once with cool results. I think if you're creative it would be a great find!

Gregg

redfishsc

I dunno about Santos mahogany but most every variety of mahogany I've used (honduran, khaya, sapele) are all quite soft (still hard enough for a good pen), I personally wouldn't use mahogany as a flooring, seems like it would really take a beating. I still think brazillian cherry or natural hard maple are hard to beat.

Anyhow, go with the advice above and 45-degree cut it. Will make a nicer looking pen. Also, once you get it turned, give it some sunlight (but not laser-beam sunlight, the heat can crack it). Sunlight will darken the wood beautifully.

Thumbs

Laurie, just telling somebody that something is made of "mahogany" will get their attention. Most people won't recognize mahogany or know much about it except that it's only used by "rich folk" for "fancy stuff."

Well, maybe that's just me; but I never saw any mahogany except in pictures of fancy furniture in magazines 'til I got into penturning.