M3 Sanding/Finishing?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator
If this has been asked before - my apologies!

Just finished turning a M3 Blank to bushing size - went fine.

I have dry sanded 180-600 and looks fine. Before I take it off, I thought I'd ask how do others finish this blank.

Mine will be a Majestic Junior Rhodium, so don't want to do a hurry job when an extra few minutes will make it better.

This is my first time with M3.. So far I am liking it!

Gave away my carry pen last week... Hmnnn.. too big?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator
No, I did not order the compounds...:mad:

So... Do what you can, with what you have!

I finished the pen with: Turtle Wax Rubbing Compound; Turtle Wax Polishing Compound; and Renaissance Wax.

Truth be told... I really like the way it came out!

The blank turned very easily; wet sanding/polishing went well; final finish went fine.

In the picture, if you notice no clip... this was missing from the kit (I'll e-mail tomorrow). It doesn't matter to me as this is now my new carry pen! and I have no use for a clip.

Thanks for the thoughts!

Attachments

• IMG_0877.jpg
    IMG_0877.jpg
    87.9 KB · Views: 172
  • IMG_0879.jpg
    IMG_0879.jpg
    107.2 KB · Views: 285
  • IMG_0880.jpg
    IMG_0880.jpg
    129 KB · Views: 188

rblakemore

I like the M3

Good job on the M3, and very creative, I would not have thought about using Turtle Wax or Renaissance Wax. I have made 2 and like the way M3 turns, I do suggest that if you make more that you obtain the M3 polishes. I do like the idea of the Ren Wax though.

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator
Good job on the M3, and very creative, I would not have thought about using Turtle Wax or Renaissance Wax. I have made 2 and like the way M3 turns, I do suggest that if you make more that you obtain the M3 polishes. I do like the idea of the Ren Wax though.