Losing my Mandrel

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Rick1708

I'm pretty new to turning, but have read the many posts on turning pens without a mandrel. I haven't noticed my pens being out of round, but decided to try it. However, the blanks kept popping out.

Any thoughts on trouble shooting? too tight? too lose? user technique? Not sure where to start.

I was trying a Classic American pen from Woodcraft, turning a piece of walnut.

Thanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jttheclockman

Not sure what you mean by poping out. Are you using bushings and the correct ones for the kit and are you using a 60 degree dead center and live center???

leehljp

Member Liaison
I too am not sure what you mean by "popping out".

I will give a quick list to see if you are doing it correctly:

1. Drill blank,
2. Insert and glue tube into the blank,
3. Square blank to the tube,
4. Place bushing on each end of the blank,
5. Place blank (with bushings on each end) between the centers (live center and dead center) and pull the tail stock up. Lock tail stock.
6. Turn,

I don't see a place in those steps for the blank to "pop out", so there probably is a terminology difference here.

Rick1708

Sorry, should have been more clear. I did follow the steps you have listed, but when I started to turn, the blanks flew out of the lathe. Flew is a little strong, they really just fell out the back of the lathe. I am using the correct brushings for the pen.

JimB

It sounds like one of 2 things. Either you didn't tighten down your tailstock or you are doing slims or euros without custom bushings. Other pens use step bushings so you don't need custom ones.

MikeMcM1956