Loose blank?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

wortmanb

I'm really new to turning and pens both. I turned a pen in a class at Woodcraft and followed it up with a seam ripper for my wife. Now I'm trying a second seam ripper using a blank of Coolibah burl, and the blank is rotating pretty freely around my mandrel. I don't think cranking down the knurled nut will help, and might make the thing spin eccentric, so what else can I try?

My tools are probably less-than-optimally sharp, so that maybe a factor too. I can, however, spun the blank when mounted freehand with no effort.

Thanks!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Mike D

You don't have to crank down on the nut but it should be snug. Brett is right. Is the wood still glued to the brass tube? If it's not then did you scuff the tube before gluing it? To attach the wood to the tube did you use thin or gap filling CA or epoxy? What type of wood did you use? If it's an oily wood it may have spoiled the bond. For oily woods, clean the bore out with denatured alcohol just before gluing in the tube. I stopped using CA and switched to 5 min epoxy and have had no problems but I always used gap filling CA when I used it for installing tubes, plus epoxy is cheaper than CA.

wortmanb

The tube is still glued in. I used gap-filling CA and scuffed the tube first.

I only squared one end with a pen mill. Perhaps the other end isn't quite square?

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
Well, here are the choices I can think of:
1) It's a Penn State Mandrel and somebody else's kit (PSI mandrels run a little smaller than everybody else).
2) The kit does not use a 7mm tube and you need bushings with a shoulder to fill your brass tubes.
3) You say you are using an adjustable length mandrel. Is the mandrel slipping out of the "Morse taper gripper" (headstock end) as you tighten the nut on the other end?