Looking for some feedback please!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Mike211

Hello all!

I am new to pen turning, only have a few dozen pens under my belt. I was hoping to get some feedback on a pen I just finished. I have been playing with the PR pens. I find them to be fun (for time being) I started out with wood and became frustrated. I think it is because of the wood I was turning, it was very old and brittle. Anyways, some feedback would be appreciated. Anyone who does PR pens, do you put CA on you pens?? Thanks-a-Million!

Attachments

• IMG_0364.jpg
    IMG_0364.jpg
    308.1 KB · Views: 475
  • IMG_0366.jpg
    IMG_0366.jpg
    292.6 KB · Views: 374
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

wyone

Very nice.. a lot of detail for someone new to turning. I am also fairly new, and do a lot of PR. I do not put a finish on PR. I sand with MM to 12000 and then polish with plastic polish and have liked that finish. I have used CA with PR to fix things and it works well, but really I have found PR to not need it

I got discouraged with wood for a while and I think it had to do with the tools I was using. I was not using SHARP enough tools. I have since started using a skew and in all honesty, it has saved 2/3 of my time. I used to have to sand through all the grits to get a decent finish, but now, with the skew, I can do some touch up with 400 or 600 and apply the finish.

Keep up the good work. I am not a big fan of the slimlines with the narrow center and rarely use them anymore. If I use a slimline I either make my own center band or change it somehow as I like smoother lines. But I do really like the details on yours. NICE!

Mike211

Thanks for the encouraging words Mitch!! How is it that you make your center band?? I also am not a big fan of the slimline, but I am using them for the experience. I would be interested in how to make the lines thicker with making a thicker center band!

Thanks
Mike

TimS124