Learned a couple of things today

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Rockytime

I learned that the bushing size does not always match the size of the pen components. I'm just getting started in this pen turning thing. I was turning a slimline kit. I turned the blanks down to the bushing, thinking this is going real well. Upon assembling the pen I discovered the blanks were just slightly larger than the pen components. Just a couple of thou but even so. I also learned that the letter drill "D" fits the standard mandrels very nicely for making your own bushings. I also learned to stay out of WoodCraft unless you can leave your credit card at home. I don't learn quickly or easily so that's it for today.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

randyrls

Les; It is often better to leave the blank a bit larger than the fittings than too small. If the blank is too small at the nib end it feels terrible!

Fittings vary slightly because of manufacturing tolerances, and platings.

A set of digital calipers is a good investment. I aim for about .010" over size when I start sanding.

Tip: Put the calipers on the fitting and press the Zero (origin) button. You now have a reading that shows how much oversize your blank is.

Rockytime

Les; It is often better to leave the blank a bit larger than the fittings than too small. If the blank is too small at the nib end it feels terrible!

Fittings vary slightly because of manufacturing tolerances, and platings.

A set of digital calipers is a good investment. I aim for about .010" over size when I start sanding.

Tip: Put the calipers on the fitting and press the Zero (origin) button. You now have a reading that shows how much oversize your blank is.

Thanks for the suggestions. I've done a lot of metal turning so I have the calipers. I'll go for the 10 thou. I'm also thinking of turning on centers with bushings.
Thanks again. Les