Lathe help

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

cjswoodcrafts

Hey all, i am new to pen turning, so far i have made 2 a walnut and a poplar, but i am in need of some help... today when i started to turn a cherry pen when i put the tool against the blank it would stop the blank from turning and a loud squeal. Could the belt be loose?

I didnt have this problem with the 1st 2 pens

thanks in advance for the help

below are the pics of what i have done

Jim

Attachments

• 007_800x533 (2).jpg
    007_800x533 (2).jpg
    47.4 KB · Views: 143
  • 003_400x600.jpg
    003_400x600.jpg
    24.3 KB · Views: 161
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

hunter-27

Passed Away Aug 14, 2013
In Memoriam
Hey all, i am new to pen turning, so far i have made 2 a walnut and a poplar, but i am in need of some help... today when i started to turn a cherry pen when i put the tool against the blank it would stop the blank from turning and a loud squeal. Could the belt be loose?

I didnt have this problem with the 1st 2 pens

thanks in advance for the help

below are the pics of what i have done

Jim
belt or loose tailstock?

Lee K

Well, this isn't going to answer your question (directly) ... but a squealing belt is better than a pinched gouge.

Usually I think this means the belt is slipping a bit instead of letting you have a violent catch. You generally only want the weight of your motor to tension the belt anyway ... anything too tight will have a negative result of ripping a tool from your hands (or worse) with a bad catch.

alphageek

Former Moderator
I'm assuming you are using a mandrel.. was the mandrel turning? Its possible the belt is loose, but that should be pretty easy to see. My guess is more toward the mandrel than the lathe, but more info might help..

What lathe do you have? Are you using a mandrel? Is it an adjustable one? If you have it a bit short and dont' tighten up to the bushings, the blank can stop even if the rest is still spinning.

steeler fan1