Laser the pen, Capt. Kirk!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Sberger

I am fairly new to this, only a couple of months. Love pen turning and making things. Have made about 100 pens and lots of other turning stuff. Also a laser person and I have now dialed my laser in to put names on the blanks. I did a show this weekend for four hours and sold about 4 pens at $20 each, without offering any laser engraving. Next show will be offering laser engraving and will have some samples to show. My question is, does anyone have any experience in offering engraved pens? How much more mark-up? I have been lasering after turning and then finishing, which seems to work best. They are really neat! No, the laser machine can not be mobile to do this on site. Too heavy. Will have to take orders and mail to customer. Point me to the instructions on posting a pic and I will try. Not that great with pics and posting.

You guys and gals on this forum are the best. Love reading it everyday. Much better than CNN. Thanks to all.

Steve

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

NewLondon88

Local Chapter Leader
I KNOW this is strictly a matter of opinion .. (and this is mine) but I have never
seen an engraved pen that looks better than the un-engraved pen.
I think it detracts from the beauty of the wood and makes it look cheap.

Then again, customers have varied tastes (some of them bad) Perhaps this is
why Barry Manilow is still selling albums?

skiprat

Passed Away Mar 22, 2022
In Memoriam

Then again, customers have varied tastes (some of them bad) Perhaps this is
why Barry Manilow is still selling albums?

He still sells albums cos he has a new co-star:biggrin:
When were you gonna tell us????:eek::biggrin: