Laser engraving

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

NotURMailman

I did a bit of research a while back into laser engravers. Seemed like the main problem with that unit was life of the laser tube and availability of replacements.

mwhatch

I wonder why shipping is $350.00 when it is supposedly shipped from US location. Sounds like their bateing with a low price, the gouging on shipping.

Fibonacci

If you look through my old posts, I have put up a lot of info on these cheaper laser systems.

I have one of the slightly larger versions of this one that I have been using for about 3 years now. There is a lot of discussion about there being issues with laser tube availability, but there are a number of sources both on and off ebay that always have them. CO2 laser tubes are basically a commodity item. They will degrade over time, but that is mostly from use.

The brief summary of my experience with both these and the professional ones is:

1. A professional laser (Universal, Epilog, etc) will give you better performance and a longer life. That said, you will pay 5x-10x the price for a comparable size/power system.

2. If you are not reasonably mechanically inclined, you should avoid the discount laser systems. They do require some tinkering, but it is a dirt simple machine. If you can do proper maintenance on your lathe, you are capable of tuning and using one of these lasers.

3. If you are not fairly computer saavy, not a good choice. The software that comes with the lasers will do all of the things the laser is capable of, but it does require some experimentation to figure out how it works. There are also some irregularities in the software. That said, it is consistent, just weird.