Laminating Information

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Fleabit

Hello all:

I am new to this hobby/profession and would like some pointers on laminating techiques.

Some of you have posted pictures of multiple layered barrels that come out in some sweet patterns. Would you please let me know how that is occomplished (ie. cut angles, glue ups etc.)?

Any information will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

timdaleiden

There are a lot of different glue/ups or laminations. Many are more simple than you would think, and some are so complex that I have yet to understand them, even after reading how they are done. For example:

http://www.turtlewoodworks.com/pmggallery/galindex.htm

Take a look at the Mark and Brian Gisi albums.

My advice; pick out something that you find interesting and ask about that specific pen.

Daniel

welcome leabit,
I have been doing a bunch of homework on laminations as that is where I want my penmaking to drift toward for now.
First there are many books available on segmented turning. these or toher info on that subject are very helpful for getting a grip on the directions for a specific design. many of the complicated looking designs are actually much easier then they look like they would be. it is a matter of gluing together one large piece then re cutting it and reorienting the pieces. this is how most herringbone and other designs are achieved. the other bid rip I have found is a 45 degree angle is not very flattering. stay either small or greater than that. follow the angles used in the designs you see and like and it will help norrow the choices for you. even a degree of angle can make a difference.