Laminated blanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

cw2185

I'm new to penturning and I'm having trouble turning the color laminated blanks. When turning chunks of the blank come out. I don't have this problem with regular wood blanks.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Ron Mc

First make sure that your tools are sharp. Remember to take gentle strokes and not try to finish to fast.
What laminated blanks are you turning?

mrcook4570

Like Ron said - sharp tools. Also take light cuts. If you are talking about angle cut dymondwood (or any angle cut wood for that matter) you can minimize blowouts by starting your cuts at the end and working inward.

leehljp

Member Liaison
When I have small chunks come out and I know I have sharp tools, I have learned that I am turning too slow. Speeded up, I have less problem. I usually slow down the speed a little after getting the blank into 'round' form.

redfishsc

Agreed with the above-- as the proverb goes, "sharp tools, light cuts".

I'd advise you on getting to know the skew chisel very, very well. I have recently only truly found out how fantastic of a tool it is. It's possible, and actually IMO easier, to use the skew for 90% of the cuts you need to make on a pen--- including roughing the blank. I don't know of any tool that can cut cleaner and safer than a skew, particularly in the hands of someone who knows how to use it.

Grab your biggest skew (or buy a 3/4 or 1" skew, oval shaped or rounded edges)--- hone it up to or even beyond 300 grit diamond stones. Mount beteen centers a good, clean grained wood like maple, and go to town on it with the skew. Practice and have fun, make lots of shavings (itty bitty slivers should be what you get).

ctEaglesc

Passed Away Jul 4, 2008
In Memoriam
What kind of glue are you using?
How are you clamping it
HOw long are you letting it cure?
USe you gluing oily woods?
How tight are your glue joints.