Lacewood or not?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

gerryr

I have a customer who wants a pen made from the wood in the picture. I got this quite a while back when JimGo and I swapped some blanks, or did I get it from Wayne when he was selling some? I think it was labeled Lacewood, but I could be wrong. Anyway, from what what I read on the Hobbit House site, this stuff if often mis-labeled. Anyone care to venture a guess about whether it's Lacewood or Leopardwood?

2006126173527_LacewoodEuroBP.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ctEaglesc

Passed Away Jul 4, 2008
In Memoriam
I can attest to the fact I am not an expert on a solid piece of wood, but when I first started turning pens I was fascinated by the grain pattern of lacewood.
Tome this isn't lace wood.:acewood has a more regular "rectangular" pattern.
I could be mistaken.

TAld

My guess is Lacewood. I have several blanks that look exactly like that. Also noticed four of the blanks that sit atop of the pile begin to show double the amount of "spots" and I think it's because the get exposed to sunlight most of the day. Just a guess.

gerryr

Well, after looking at the photos of David's pens, I agree it is probably Leopardwood. I've sent an email to Kelvin and I know Ryan has some. Thanks everyone.

JimGo

If I recall correctly, Leopard and Lace woods come from the same tree, and are basically heart and sapwood or something like that. This piece might be from a region bordering the two, hence the slight "leopard" appearance in places.

If that's a piece from me, I might have another one Gerry. I haven't made any lace/leopard pens in a while, and I know I had several (5-10) blanks in total.