Keeping track of types of Wood used for pens

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

DougMPhoto

What do you folks use to keep track of the types of wood and acrylic, etc. that you use for pens/pencils?

Do you put them in individual pen tubes with labels?

I am just starting and have quite a few types of blanks and a lot look similar but are marked as different woods.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Sabaharr

Doug, I am just beginning too but have amassed quite a collection of blanks. I went to the office supply store yesterday and got a pack of 500 paper tags with the little string on them. I am going to tape them to the blanks with all pertenant info like wood type, initial cost, .... whatever i think I might need. I will also use these tags on the finished pens to identify them and keep an inventory number on a spread sheet that I can print out when I go to a show or sale and keep track of inventory. This box of tags cost me $12 and will save a lot of headaches trying to remember things in the future.

hunter-27

Passed Away Aug 14, 2013
In Memoriam
JUst put a piece of masking tape on them and write the info with a sharpie. Most woods you can use the sharpie directly on the wood and it is visible. You will turn the writing away so wont matter about the ink.

DurocShark

If the OP is talking about completed pens, so far I've been able to remember what's what. Tags are a good idea though.

For unworked blanks, a sharpie works, or tape with a sharpie for dark materials.

rsitzejr

I printed out cards with my name, left a blank for pen/insert type and wood type. I fill this out when I turn a pen and attach it to the pen, that way I can remember what kind of wood I used.

Rangertrek

Number System

I have been doing this for about 7 months, and have accumulated a few blanks and kits.