Jet and Delta owner ?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
I am looking at the Jet 1220 vs and the Delta 46-460 and I must say I like the Delta the best but, I have heard more and more stories that getting any parts for the Delta is next to impossible.
My question is what problems you have had with either of the lathes, how long have you owned and how long did it take to get it fixed. I have seen where people say it has been 8 months since a problem with the Delta and it still is not fixed because they can not get parts.
I appreciate any input you can give.
Thanks
Mike

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

SteveG

Since I have not had any problems of late, I have no recent experience with trying to get parts/service for my Delta 46-460. I have a lot of Delta tools, so I would be very interested to know if there is a problem, should the need arise. Anyone having problems out there?
Steve

PenMan1

Delta parts for the 46-460 are actually quicker NOW than Jet parts.

Both of the lathes you are considering are quality lathes and it would be a "toss up" for me between the 2.

I have a 46-460 and a Jet 1013VSI. The Delta is hands down my favorite, because of the extra power AND because the belt change is located in the front on the Delta. Belt change on the 1014 requires that the lathe be located away from a wall, because the belt change is in the rear.

dtswebb

Mike,

I have a Delta 46-460 and have been using it for two years. I have not expereinced any issue with the lathe and an very satisfied with its performance and durability.

I agree with Andy - changing the belt pulleys is quick and effortless.

I would not hesitate in recommending the 46-460 to anyone looking for a good lathe.

Matthew

toyotaman

I've had my Delta 46-460 for about 3yrs now with no problems. I have heard of some problems with the on/off switch but that should be resolved by now. I would go with the Delta.

Greg Green