Jarra burl experience?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
HI, my first post! Thanks for years of help and advice to all who post here, it means so much to a novice.
Here is my challenge. I invited a complete novice to a pen turning session to see what it is all about. He found a jarra burl blank and I am quite intimidated! I have only turned a couple dozen pens myself, self taught, and I have never seen this kind of blank with all its interesting holes.
I am finding scant advice online on turning this species into a pen.
Does anyone out there have a little time to share advice here on how to tackle this challenge?
Thanks, g

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

Welcome to IAP, Greg !!!!

If you write a short bit about yourself on the Introductions forum, as a newbie you will be entered for a prize draw.

I have been turning pens for 7+ years and I still avoid Jarrah because of the holes.
You need patience and skill. . Filling holes (with CA ?) is never fun for me.

switt

Hi. I've turned quite a few burl pens. Jarrah is one of the more challenging, as it often has rather large voids, and like most burls, is quite brittle. I would suggest he put this one aside until he has a bit more experience. If you decide to go ahead, I recommend the following:
1) Be very careful drilling the blank as overheating can cause cracking.
2) Recommend using a good epoxy rather than CA to glue in the tubes.
3) Fill any voids and cracks with a mixture of CA and coffee grounds. Be prepared to stop turning and refill voids / cracks as you get deeper.
4) Use very sharp tools and a light shearing cut. I use carbide tools exclusively for pen turning.
5) Always best practice to work from the ends toward the centre, but especially so with a burl.

Good luck with it.

OZturner

Another Possibility, Depending How Porous the Jarrah Burl Blank is, you might consider having it filled with a Casting Solution of your choice or one that is available to you.