Which Ivory?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

VirgilJ

The other day I started turning a Jr Statesman FP in Olive Wood and the blank for the cap broke. I had the blank for the pen body already glued up, so I just set the whole thing aside.

Last night I put the blank for the body on the lathe with the intention of turning the wood off completely so I could reuse the tube. The more I turned the better the blank looked so I went ahead and finished as pen body. It turned out to be a really lovely piece of Olive Wood. One of the best I've had in a while.

Now I need something to use as a cap. The only thing I could think of was imitation Ivory. I've never used Imitation Ivory before and a quick web search gave me a bunch of different choices. I would prefer something that is more white and less cream colored, but it is really hard to tell when viewing blanks on the web.

Anyone use an Ivory blank lately they really liked? Any help would be appreciated.
The picture is the pen body it would be used with.

Thanks in advance!!

Attachments

• Olivewood FP.jpg
    Olivewood FP.jpg
    183 KB · Views: 272
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

TonyL

I made a faith hope and love pen out of it last week. I will post later. I did blow the top barrel when trimming the barrel with a carbide trimmer. I will make more imitation ivory pens, but will look for an AA or PR alternative. I would say the color is close to what most would consider. PSI features the faith hope and love in II with petwer hardware in their catalog (possible the online version too); my pen came out exactly like that.

TonyL

I agree about the Corian. Casein was my first thought...but milk solids. It does have a nice textured look though. I am going with the Corian. Thanks!

robutacion

The other day I started turning a Jr Statesman FP in Olive Wood and the blank for the cap broke. I had the blank for the pen body already glued up, so I just set the whole thing aside.