IPE Wood Question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Jonlane71

So my wife brought home a piece IPE wood from work and after some research I found out that it comes from South America; I have never used this wood before and could use some good insight. I did notice that the wood is very dense and my wife said that the guy she got it from said that it's very hard to cut. Hopefully someone as used this wood before and could give me some do's and don'ts. Thanks in advance for any help! I wish I had a picture of it but I forgot to take one.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
I made a segmented vessel from ipe, and it is hard. It was chippy while turning, but after enough sanding it looks good. Tigerwood was used for the center. Both woods came from extra flooring.

Attachments

• Ipe and Tigerwood MT1212.03.jpg
    Ipe and Tigerwood MT1212.03.jpg
    162.9 KB · Views: 196

Olsarge

I've only used it for pens and it turns really nice. Use sharp tools, take it slow and it will be fine. Some pieces do not have wow type grain, but do some online research about the wood. I was told that it had the same fire rating as concrete, will not float and insects do not attack it. It is used for decks and docks. have fun with it. regards Dennis

Jonlane71

I am really looking forward to turning it hopefully it will turn out good thanks for the Info.

Jonlane71

I did notice the plain grain and how heavy such a small piece can be ... Hopefully it turns out good might get to it this weekend and will be able to upload some photos. But I got a lot of projects that need some attention.

keithbyrd

Question?

Turns real good and known as "Brazilian cherry". Makes for a long lasting deck if your can afford the coin $$$$$$$

I have a friend who does exotic flooring and I have both Ipe and Brazilian Cherry - not the same - I will try to find them tonight and post a picture!

wood-of-1kind