Inlay

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

stevefromnfld

Hi guys,,I'm new at this,and havn't even made one pen yet.I'm waiting for a new mandrel to fit my lathe,should be here fri or monday.Anyway,I see alot of pens that look like they have another colored wood inlayed into them in the form of a design.How do you do that?Is it done in the gluue up stage or afterwards very carefully?
Just curious,,lol,,,not going to try this first..lol...Steve..:D

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jahlg

This is done in the glue up stage, your imagination is the limit with pens, but i would suggest starting out with the basics first, get your finishing skills down first. No sense putting all that time into a segmented pen and not get a great finish on it!! [:D]

It's a secret!!

Just kidding.

There is a forth coming a article that will be posted soon that tells all. It was written by four IAP members and I got a sneak peek, it's good!

wudwrkr

Steve,
Some of the more intricate designs are created with a laser. Just check out www.kallenshaanwoods.com. When I first saw some of those pens, I was hooked!

Jim Boyd

Originally posted by Ron in Drums PA
<br />It's a secret!!

Just kidding.

There is a forth coming a article that will be posted soon that tells all. It was written by four IAP members and I got a sneak peek, it's good!

Sneak peek[?][:D]

vick

You should definately work on getting round pens with a godd finish to start off with. If you see a pen and you want to know how it was done I would recomend sending an e-mail to the maker and asking them. Most are more than willing to share or point you in the right direction.

Good news also on top of the segmented tutorial by some members Mark Gisi gave his permission to post his tutorial on how to make scallops on this site. I would expect Jeff to post it in the next week or so.

YoYoSpin