Initial Tool Outfitting

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Hey guys,

I'm new to the site and about to build a new shop for myself. I am new to pens but not to wood and metal work. I have had bad experiences in the past with cheap tools and wanted to hear from the experts here first before making purchases so as not to make any mistake buying something cheap which won't last (haven't we all done that before...). Specifically, I will be adding these common items as to my new shop which I don't have:

A variable speed mini lathe

A band saw

A drill press

A set of turning tools specific to pens (gouge, skew, parting tool)

Any advice as to brands, sizes, speeds, etc. on each of the power tools and hand tools would be appreciated. Even info on what NOT to buy might be of help if you have had any bad experiences you would like to share. Also, any particular jigs you find useful would be great too. Thanks in advance.

Rob

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rjwolfe3

Whatever brand you decide, go with the biggest you can afford. I went with a bench mounted drill press and regret it everyday. Look at Grizzly for your bandsaw and Jet or PSI for your variable speed lathe. Turning tools - I would get individual ones and not a set. I started with the pen makers set and hate using them. There are many opinions on this and I am sure you get a lot of responses.

baker4456

I agree with Rob. If you buy a set of turning tools you might buy a cheep set first because there might be tools you like better and there are some you won't use. Then buy the good stuff in the tools you like to use.

Sabaharr