Idea for tube and clear acrylic blank?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Woodchipper

I am still new at this but have an idea. There was an inquiry about a blank with a certain finish. Thought I could crinkle some aluminum foil, flatten it and glue it around a tube. I know it would increase the diameter a bit. How would it react with CA or epoxy? Would the glue hold? Try it and see? Thanks to all who reply.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Mikeyt

You should use the foil tape for heating systems I don't remember the name but can get a roll in the heating section of home depot or Lowe's it sticks to the tube great and be casted without issues

Sent from my iPhone using Penturners.org mobile app

Cwalker935

The foil I used was much thinner than kitchen foil. I would be concerned that regular cooking foil may be too thick for thinner walled pens particularly after it had been crinkled. I glued the foil on with CA and let cure thoroughly before casting. Aluminum plays well with PR.

Last edited:

Woodchipper

I was looking to apply this directly to the tube. Don't have the equipment for casting. SWMBO is of the opinion that I need to use what I have for now. I'll look at Woodcraft and see what they have that would be translucent enough for this idea. Thanks to all for your replies.
Thanks to all on this forum for their unselfish attitude in sharing with others!

dogcatcher

I found some small diameter plastic shipping tubes. I turned a Delrin jig to plug the bottom end and to center the tube and a Delrin plug. Mix the resin and then sat it on an upside down vibrator sander for a minute or so. Poured in to the tube. the vibrator action of the sander got most of the air out. Uline has the tubes as do others.