I Made a trip to Woodcraft Yesterday

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

GregD

While I was there, I asked if anyone could show me how to use a skew chisel.After the guy,(Jim I think was his name), showed me how to use it, I came home and gave it a try. Now I'm using the skew chisel like a pro.
The trick is to keep the bevel down aginst the wood and cut in the center of the chisel.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
G

The amazing thing is how people are intimidated by the skew.
My first lather was the JET penturning lathe(which I returned within a week)that came with a set of chisels.
I was pretty much disgusted with my first attempts on a chunk of wood on the lathe.
I gound out why they called a gouge a gouge.
I picked up the skew because it made sense that if I wanted a straight line across the length of what I was turning(like a pen) why woulud I want to use a rounded tool?
I am totally self taught in the use of all my chisels and I suppose for me that is the best way.
I discoverd what worked for me becasue there was nowone to show me the "right" way.
I don't know if my technique is "correct" but I ma pleased with the results.
I have learned when tools aren't giving me a good result it's probably because they aren't sharp.
They diamond stone has become my best friend,I have no idea why(for pen making) people have the desire to buy "toys" to sharpen their tools.
I may be missing something but I think a stone thats 400 grit will give a better edge than a stone that's equivalent to what they use to strip the finish off hardwood floors.
There are two sides to my stone,yellow and red.
I have forgotten what the grits are buy I know the yellow is coarse and the red is fine.
Another thig I have learned the the use use the skew cuts down on sanding.
My advice to anyone that is intimidated by the skew is to chuck up a piece of wood between centers,turn it round and experiment with the skew.