I could use some advice.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

lglide

I have been turning pens for about two years. There is one area where flaws keep cropping up, and hopefully one of you has a suggestion on how to avoid it. I use CA glue to finish the pen, and nylon bushings while finishing it. I have tried several means of detaching the pen from the bushing (nearly always the smallest end gives me trouble), but frequently end up with flaws right at the edge of the pen.

Like today, this happened. Any advice?

Attachments

• Screenshot_20181018-215024_Gallery.jpg
    Screenshot_20181018-215024_Gallery.jpg
    127.2 KB · Views: 267
  • 20181018_215007.jpg
    20181018_215007.jpg
    188.7 KB · Views: 250
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jttheclockman

When questions like this come up some times it is difficult to answer because we do not have access to your procedures or equipment.

To me this is an equipment problem and with that I mean the bushings you are using. With the perfect ring makes me believe the blank is sitting indented in the bushing. In other words the bushing is keeping the very end of the blank from getting a finish on it. Thus your finish comes up short on the ends. Use different bushings or make them smaller. I prefer to make cone shape and do not use those rounded nylon bushings you see so often people using for finishing. Does not allow the hand to continue the motion when applying CA. or sanding. Just my opinion :)

magpens

What is the problem you are referring to in the pictures ... you didn't say.

Is it the very fine rings very close to the very end of the blank(s) ?

I have never seen anything like that in my 10 years making pens, finishing with CA.

If that is "the problem" then, as John said, it has to be something mechanical like inappropriate bushings. It is just too precise a "feature" to be anything else, IMHO. . It actually looks like it has been scored ... to be that perfect of a flaw.

Last edited:

CREID