I am looking for a little advice.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

guitarman

Hi folks I am looking for some advice.I have cancer of the voice box and despite radiotherapy and 7 operations the little devil appears to be winning the argument.Mr consultant has started preparing me forthe probability of having my voice box totally removed.The result will be that I will have to have a hole in my throat through which I will breathe.I have been turning for many years and would be disappointed if I had to stop because of this. I wonder if there is anybody out there who has been in a similar situation and whether they have been able to continue turning.

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

WriteON

Very sorry to hear to this. Just keep trying and do the best you can do...and protect yourself accordingly.

skiprat

Passed Away Mar 22, 2022
In Memoriam
Wow Maurice, that is a helluva predicament and I wish you the very best for the future. Hopefully someone here can allay your concerns.

On a lighter note...several members here, myself included, manage to breathe and speak from orifices other than our mouths and we do ok...:biggrin:

CabinetMaker

Hi folks I am looking for some advice.I have cancer of the voice box and despite radiotherapy and 7 operations the little devil appears to be winning the argument.Mr consultant has started preparing me forthe probability of having my voice box totally removed.The result will be that I will have to have a hole in my throat through which I will breathe.I have been turning for many years and would be disappointed if I had to stop because of this. I wonder if there is anybody out there who has been in a similar situation and whether they have been able to continue turning.
I think you are going to have to get creative. My guess would be that if you ask your doc he will say that you can't be in a dusty environment. They might have a filter that can attach to it.