How to turn below the bushings

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mpex

I'm finding that the actual bushings I'm using for slimline, roller ball and click pens are bigger than the kit components. I bought a digital caliper to make sure. I'm not sure how best to turn or sand the wood below the bushing size. Should I just use a smaller bushing that was meant for a different size pen kit, and then continuously measure with the calipers? Seems like a bit of a pain. I tried sanding down past, but that seems to cut into the rest of the blank too heavily and doesn't get right to the very end which is what needs to match the kit parts.
For reference: I'm a beginner using a mandrel.

Thanks for any suggestions!

Moishe

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jmbaker79

Would think this would be hard to do consistantly with a conventional mandrel and bushings, as far as getting to the edge. I'm sure your bushings are also smaller now than they were when you bought them from hitting them with a tool while cutting that last little bit by the edge. I turn between centers like lots of folks and measure with a caliper to over turn before applying a finish. You could trim down your bushings to the exact size you need or just turn between centers with no mandrel. Just a thought!

Lenny

Using a 60 degree dead center in the headstock and turning between centers would work if you wanted to try it. Even if you just use it for the final sizing (with calipers) and then applying a ca finish.... You might find you prefer it. You most likely will need a short tool rest as well to allow support close to the work.

mpex

You could trim down your bushings to the exact size you need or just turn between centers with no mandrel. Just a thought!

What would be the best way to trim down the bushings?

Using a 60 degree dead center in the headstock and turning between centers would work if you wanted to try it.

How does TBC help solve the problem? Don't you still use bushings when TBC?