How to stop cracking of Pen Blanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JimmyZ56

I'm fairly new to pen turning. Currently I'm turning a CSUSA Artisan Jr Retro Pen Kit. I've manage to crack several pen blanks. I'm drilling the blanks at 200 RPMs and backing out the drill (12.5mm) numerous times to eliminate chip build up. I'm thinking of drilling a 5/32 dia hole first and then follow up with the 12.5 mm drill. Any thoughts and/or ideas?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

johnnycnc

Is it cracking at the bottom of the hole?
what kind of material is the blank?
fill in some blanks and i guarantee you will get answers around here.:)
and just my opinion, but speed the drill up to 500 rpm or more.

OKLAHOMAN

If the blank is acrylic, cut it 1/4 long and don't drill all the way through. Drill it long enough for the tube to fit leaving 1/8" now cut the blank to size...Vola!!! no cracked blank.....

IPD_Mrs

Like John recommended, you would be better off drilling a bit faster. Also make sure you have sharp drill bit. If drilling on a drill press make sure you have good support under the blank as well. Personally I like getting the blank round and drilling when it is in a 3/4" collet. The collet really supports the side walls of the blank.

zig613

Brazilian teak is a very dense wood. You may be experiencing heat build up when drilling that is causing the cracks. Sharp bits is key. You may want to drill part way through the blank, then stop to allow the blank to cool down, then complete the drilling process.

Wade

nava1uni

I think that the slow speed is allowing heat build up. Make sure that you have another piece of wood under whatever you are drilling, even if you are going to cut it off. Sharp drill bit and allow the bit to cut the wood, not the pressure you are applying. If you press too hard it will compress the shaving and cause cracking.

Mike5753