How many of you sand...

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

sandking

i was wondering how many of you turn the lathe of between grits and sand with the grain? For lighter woods I don't find this necessary but on darker ones I can't seem to get the previous grits sanding marks out without doing this up to 400 grit. After that I use MM and you can't see them, then off to the tripoli then white diamond before putting on a CA finish.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

alparent

I do more then that! I sand with the grain all the time. The only time I sand with the lathe on is the initial sanding. I find that it dosn't take me any longer to sand and there is never a sanding mark. Just my way of doing it [:)]

les-smith

As a newbie, I have to say I initially underestimated the importance of sanding with the grain. I make sure I do it really well now. It has really made a difference.

ctEaglesc

Passed Away Jul 4, 2008
In Memoriam
Originally posted by sandking
<br />i was wondering how many of you turn the lathe of between grits and sand with the grain? For lighter woods I don't find this necessary but on darker ones I can't seem to get the previous grits sanding marks out without doing this up to 400 grit. After that I use MM and you can't see them, then off to the tripoli then white diamond before putting on a CA finish.
Try it twiththe lathe off and with the grain one time.
You will see a difference in the appearance of the wood you never knew.
It is like looing through a dirty window.You don't know how dirty it was until you wash it.
It is not something that explains well in print, but I have seen work done by others at craft shows and consignment store.
I can tell the diffrence and I am just about blind.

bradh

Alway sand with the grain up to 400.
I sometimes start my first grit (150) with the grain only, don't turn the lathe on until the second grit (240).
How I do this depends on how soft the wood is.
Brad Harding

Skye