How long do you spend on a pen?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

bensoelberg

I keep seeing posts where people will show what they turned over the weekend, or the night before and they will show 5-10 perfectly turned and finished pens. I'm just starting out and it's taking me about 1.5 hours to cut, drill, glue, turn, finish and assemble a pen. Is that really slow? I get the feeling that some of you do all of that it 20 minutes. Could you give me some tips to help speed things up?

hanau

I am just staring out but i see it as an assembly line.

1) cut multiple blanks
2) drill
3) install tubes
4) turn first blank, sand then keep repeating till all blanks are finished(helps to have multiple mandrels)
5) finish each blank one step at a time unless you are doing a quick type of finish.
6) assemble

Midi

I keep seeing posts where people will show what they turned over the weekend, or the night before and they will show 5-10 perfectly turned and finished pens. I'm just starting out and it's taking me about 1.5 hours to cut, drill, glue, turn, finish and assemble a pen. Is that really slow? I get the feeling that some of you do all of that it 20 minutes. Could you give me some tips to help speed things up?

No help here. It takes me all evening to come up with one set of barrels. Even worse - not all my barrels grow up to be real pens.

I know how you feel. Don't worry, we will speed up...

-Midi

jbthbt

When I'm mass producing for an order or for a show and just need to stomp out some quick basic pens to fill the table I average about 15 minutes per pen on slimlines. When I am making something really special or new I can spend as much as a couple days on one pen. I've been turning them for about 2 years. I turn for some extra income, as well as stress relief when life gets too, well, lifelike.

phillywood