How do you sharpen....

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

daveeisler

With all the gizmo's for sale what do you use, I have a Grizzly wet , slow speed that looks like the Tormek, and I have the real Tormek accessories, I also have the one way system, Harbor Freight sells the Tormek look alike and it is real crap, the Grizzly is not nearly as good as the Tormek, but for what it cost's, it makes it a fine tool. The One Way is also pretty good and set's up fast with a re-peatable settings. for a beginner it may be best to stay with the wet grinder , as the One Way can tempt you to over grind and do some damage to the tool, many years ago I had a Tormek and sold it with regret now, and of coarse many of you have perfected the "Free Hand" but for the rest of us, a jig or tool is needed, and I have been turning for 12 years, I never spent the time to learn free hand, but you can buy a tool for a buck at a flee market and practice all you want, still, for me , the scarce free time is for turning. In the end, my Grizzly is fast ,accurate, repeatable and easy, I keep a bottle of water close by so I don't have to go get it from the sink. I reccomend it. Given the chance , if I find a very good used Tormek, I will buy it.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Art Fuldodger

Here's my take: The Tormek is, indeed, the Dog's Danglies for getting something super-sharp. However, if you turn anything of any significant size, your tool will need to be sharpened again quite quickly. Even if nothing else, you should sharpen again before the last cut, to get the smoothest finish you can.

Sharpening on a grinder is much faster than a Tormek. It may not get the tool quite as sharp as the Tormek, but the difference in sharpness between the two is lost in the first few seconds of turning.