How did you learn to turn?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Herb G

I was curious as to how people learned to turn.
I joined a local wood turning club, only to be completely disappointed.
No one wanted to teach me anything, so I never went back.

I have taught myself mostly from watching countless hours of Youtube videos and trial & error. I am still learning because I don't actually have that much lathe time. I play & putter around & try different things until I find something that works for me.

I have come to the conclusion that it doesn't matter how you turn, as long as you can turn. And turn safely, I might add.

So, how did you learn to turn?

randyrls

I have come to the conclusion that it doesn't matter how you turn, as long as you can turn. And turn safely, I might add.

Herb; The local woodturning club in Harrisburg PA is very helpful in starting out and showing the safe way to turn. A few videos I have seen on YouTube are just accidents waiting to happen. :frown:

Maybe you can find a different club that is more open. Search here.

WriteON

I watched a few YouTubes before I bought any equipment. I understood what was happening. From there I learned from mistakes..corrected them and stuck with whatever technique was working. I worked with wood...got bored after 6 months and changed to acrylic.
I was fortunate to find IAP. Extremely helpful. The members here are 100% supportive.
I pass by PSI in Pa once a week during the Summer. The people there are fun to chat with...would answer questions about tools/technique. They are woodworkers not salesman so there is never any pressure to purchase anything.
I'm a dental technician by trade..... I sat in front of a Baldor and Red Wing ...trimmed and polished acrylic for a lifetime...that helped with turning.
Here we are about 4 years later and everyday is day 1.
I inspired a relative to turn...he got set up...sells pens/stoppers at shows. It's great feeling to pass it on.