How close to bushings?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ofd8001

I'm new to this forum, so if this is in the wrong place, I apologize (also, please point me in the correct direction).

I'm also new to pen-turning.

They say you should turn your blanks "just proud" of the bushings. How "proud" is proud - is that like the thickness of a piece of paper, etc? Also does it matter whether the material is wood or acrylic?

Thanks for the advice.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator
Hi Rich:

...not an expert here, but...

The basic issue is to have enough "material" that when you do you're sanding and finishing, you will end up close to your bushing size.

OR, for those of us that use calipers and actually measure our components, to get back to those measurements.

So... I measure my components, and try to be proud of those, and sand/finish back to the measurements.

A difference between wood and acrylic? EVERY material will be slightly different, so expect some variation, plan accordingly and you will do fine after some practice!!!

Oh... Welcome to IAP!

Last edited:

TonyL

I turn "proud enough" to where I can detect a difference with my fingernail. This way when I finish sanding, I will either be slightly proud or flush. I also turn proud and then turn a slight raduis that almost meets the bushing. HOWEVER, this is just how I like my pens. Remember, to turn to your components, and not the bushings using calipers (learned the hard way). Just my approach, and again, it has to be the way you and/or your customers like them. FWIW. :)

paintspill

+1 on dan's comment. I'm at the stage now where I require very little sanding.
to answer the question, I turn to the bushing. but be sure to take into consideration the finish you are planning to use. polishing an acrylic pen adds no thickness, now if you are the 20 coats of CA kind of person that needs to be taken into account.

toddlajoie