High Quality Pen Kits

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JPW062

I am a new pen turner and I am working on some slimlines.
I am not very happy with the quality of the pen kits. They aren't bad. Much better than a pen I would buy at the store, but if I am putting a few hours into turning and finishing a pen I want a kit that will last decades ad I am thinking these kits will likely last a few years.
I am using some wood from the families original barn as blanks. It has been floating around my family for 4 generations, so I hate to turn it into pens that will only last a few years. I'd rather a few decades at least.

I do want to stick to slim lines.

Of course, I worked as an aero machinist in the past and have been told several times this is woodworking and it isn't going to be up to "helicopter standards."

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator
Welcome from Medina, OH!

Also welcome to IAP! (I'll also suggest you add your approximate location in Ohio to your profile so local folks can properly welcome you).

Jumping ahead... If you want to stick to Slimlines, there are obstacles as well as opportunities! You can make a bunch of very different profiles with the slimline components. But there is a whole world of additional kit (and kitless) dimensions.

The Slimline venue will have some nice opportunities for modifications. But i will encourage you to consider other dimensions for pens (there are many).

Check out these links for slimline info:

http://www.redriverpens.com/articles Several excellent tutorials on slimline modifications.

http://content.penturners.org/library/pens/slimline_modifications.pdf Some great pictures.

Last edited:

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator
I forgot to mention... Slimline platings are not noted to be especially "robust".

Thus, you may want to consider a few other kit dimensions/platings.

I am not an expert in platings/durability, so any additional comments from others may serve you better.