Help with why there is scratches

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

beep119

Hello, I'm a newbie still and trying to figure what I'm doing wrong here...
I have an acrylic blank I turned down and then went through all the micro mesh, but still showed scratches...so I tried sanding from 150-600 then again with the micro mesh...still didn't look good. So I did a light turn with my scraper to get blank back to after a fresh turn and tried micro mesh sequence again...even uglier!
What am I doing wrong?
Ever other arcrylic I have done..about 25 has turned out great, maybe a few small hardly noticeable type of scratches, but not bad....but this blank is an upgrade....paid $10 for, so it's my first expensive blank, but can't figure why I'm getting scratches.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    91.6 KB · Views: 395
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

plantman

I would try turning your lathe off and hand sanding lengthwise. 220 and 900-1200 should do it. Anything after that is just polishing it in my book. You can remove fine scratches and polish with other products on the market made for plastics. Another way to remove these scratches is to use a fine metal file while turning your blank by hand. On the other hand, some plastics stay somewhat soft and are hard to sand, or have soft pockets in them from not curing or being mixed well enough. Jim S

carlmorrell

They look like deep scratches from the rougher grits.

There are many ways to skin a cat. You are probably going to get a lot of suggested techniques.

I sand down to 320, stop the lathe and hand sand lengthwise. I always have magnifying glasses on and make sure I get all the radial scratches out.

Then I switch to micromesh. Wet. For the first 5 or six grits, I stop the lathe and again hand sand lengthwise.

beep119

Micro mesh wet....
But second time when I tried to do another way it was dry then micro mesh wet
And I do sand lengthwise inbetween grits 150-320 when I do 150-600

Last edited:

magpens