Help! Tailstock wobble!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

fireforce

So, I'm a beginner to turning. In an attempt to try my hand without dropping a thousand dollars, I bought a Wen 8"x12" lathe. I was told that to bore a straight, centered hole, it was best to use a lathe. I bought a centering chuck as well as a MT1 drill chuck (I don't know what else to call it). I attached the bit to the tailstock to bore the hole and locked the tailstock down.The tailstock is centered, but the quill inside it has some play, so when I start boring the hole, it creates a ring and I have to move the quill into place with my hand to get it started.

I called customer support and they said that it is supposed to have a little play in it. Am I making a newbie mistake? How can I fix the issue?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

monophoto

The situation you have encountered is very common.

The bottom of the tailstock has a rectangular protrusion that rides between the bedways of the lathe. The protrusion is very slightly narrower than the spacing of the bedways, which means that it can wobble just a bit. And this can lead to centering problems when drilling - problems that get worse as the gap between headstock and tailstock increases (due to the size blank you are drilling, the length of the drill bit, or how far you have extended the tailstock ram).