Help a soldier get started

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

armyturner

Hello everyone from sunny Iraq. I am a soldier in the US Army and I am very intrested in getting involved in pen turning. The last time I worked on a lathe was in high school and I have wanted to get started again every since. I do quite a bit of work in the wood shop on post at Fort Carson, CO (when I am there), but due to other projects I have not had a chance to get on the lathe.

I have spent many hours reading threads on here and the amount or information is very informative, if not overwhelming. I am looking for suggestions on equipment to start out on. I am willing to pay what is necessary, but I plan to bring everything over here to Iraq next time around in order to have a hobby (I am still here now and will be back again next Oct). I would hate to buy a more expensive lathe such as a Jet or a Carba-Tec right now just to have the sand gods (or a mortar round) get the best of it. Does anyone have input on the Grizzly G9247 VS, Wilton 99177, or Turncrafter Plus? They are all in the lower price range yet still have the varible speed controls, and it would be less of a poke in the side if something were to happen to one of them over here.

Also, I think that I have managed to find the websites of most of the major companies dealing in supplies but I see a lot of acromyns for other companies in the treads that I can't seem to figure out. I would appreciate input on where to get the best deals from.

Thanks much and have a fine ARMY day.
Jeremy

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ctEaglesc

Passed Away Jul 4, 2008
In Memoriam
I have a feeling you will be able to start a PLATOON, COMPANY or BRIGADE of penturners over there!
Along with everything else I am imagining unless you figure out a way to turn sand you will be needing blanks.
When you say youa re returning NEXT oct I am taking it to mean 2007.
Am I correct?