Help please

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

joe004

i am very new to pen turning, only having about 5 under my belt so far. My wife wants me to do a few pens for Christmas gifts. I used epoxy to hold the tubes into the blanks the ones with wood blanks held perfect but I had one in acylic that pushed the tubes out when I used the trimmer to square up the ends. What is the best to use on acrylic for gluing the tubes in? Also is there anywhere in central Arkansas to get pen making supplies?

Thanks

Joe

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

wyone

I use thick CA most of the time. I am normally impatient and want to turn in the same time frame, so the CA helps with that. I make sure always to rough the tube up with some course sandpaper before gluing to give the glue something to bite into.

I am not sure what is close to you, but look for either a Woodcraft or Rockler Woodworking store. Around here they both carry pen kits, although not the best source or selection.

Welcome to the addiction! lol

I hope you enjoy it as much as I do

79spitfire

I find 5 minute epoxy works great. Did perhaps the epoxy not get mixed thoroughly? I've also had good luck with thick CA and then re-gluing with thin after the thick set up, just dab a bit around the ends of the tube. I tried the 'fast' gorilla glue with mixed results. One held fine and the other slipped out.

Ross

I have had good luck with both epoxy and thick ca. Are you scuffing the brass tube with sandpaper? I had a failure with ca before I started doing that.

Mr Vic

Check your tube that pushed out..Did you rough it up before gluing?

Last edited:
I use 5 min epoxy almost exclusively with excellent results. Suggest you insure the steps above are taken AND also be sure to follow mfr's instructions regarding mixing the 2 parts. Normally equal parts of each AND stir THOROUGHLY. Also suggest you wait much more than 5 min before trying to square the ends. I will normally wait overnight.

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager