HELP my olive wood is cracking

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

DENZ-PENZ

Hi, I am new to this forum.
I have been turning pens for about 5 months. I wanted to do some new stuff so I bought some olivewood that had been cut from a board(yea, I know all of it was a board to begin with;^) Anyway, I started cutting, drilling and gluing these blanks. When I got them turned down and started to assemble the pens I have run into a problem with the finial(cap?). I am having a HARD time getting the cap into the end of the tube, when it does go in it is cracking the wood blank on that end.
This is on a "comfort pen". I use mostly 7mm tubes but don't keep them separate from kit to kit, could this be my problem?
Thank you in advance, Dennis

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ldb2000

Dennis , One of your problems may be glue in the end of the tube and when you press in the finial it is causing the end of the tube to expand too much cracking the end .
Try cleaning ALL the glue out with a small round file or a hobby knife just be careful to not over do it or your finials will then be loose .
Oh and welcome to the group .

DENZ-PENZ

Thanks

Thanks Butch;
I had not thought of that, I usually drill them out when I square the ends but these did seem a little more tight. Thank you for your help, Dennis

kirkfranks

Dennis,
Yes sometimes the variances from one kit to another could cause this problem, but more likely is a variance in the finial from this batch of kits. If the machinist (or tooling) was getting to tired the part could be slightly oversized and that will cause your problem.

I agree with Butch above. Try using a small file to clear out the tube, or enlarge it if necessary for a smoother fit. I have done this on some pens before and just use one a small drop of epoxy on the part if it gets "too loose".

Good luck.

ldb2000