Help with drilling resins

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

vick

I have never done any resin pens before so I got a couple crushed velvet blanks to try. I managed to break both drilling the tube holes. Is their a trick to drilling the holes? I am worried because I have a couple of celluloid blanks on the way and do not want to ruin them.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

KKingery

Mike - Although I sure am no expert, you might try drilling a small pilot hole first, then go up in progression of size until you reach the right size for your tubes. I'm sure it's a little time consuming, but it beats busting out blanks. - Just an idea

DCBluesman

Passed Away Mar 3, 2016
In Memoriam
Vick...it's easy to do this right. First, make sure your bit is <b>sharp</b> or else get a new one. Second, drill <u>very</u> slowly and keep your flutes <u>cleared</u>...backing your bit out after every 1/4-3/8" is not too frequent. Third, backfill the hole you are creating with cool water <u>frequently</u> to keep both the blank and the bit from overheating. If you follow this path, grasshopper, you will succeed! [8D]

btboone

Lou is spot on. Another thing that can easily break the blanks is if the blank is able to move when it's drilled. It takes a steady vise and drill press, or something of equal rigidity. Clear those chips and use a spray bottle with water, water with a little soap, or coolant.

PenWorks

Not to rock the boat, But I cut allot of resins and since I changed to Brea's parabolic bits, I haven't lost one. It drills at a high RPM, clears the chips, bores straight & fast. My secound choice would be the DeWalt pilot point, the tit breaks thru first and less breakage.

Ken, scratch the pilot hole, I tried that once, and that's ALL, just once. When you go to expand the hole with the next bit, it justs sucks the bit right down and will probablly crack a resin. Anthony

wayneis