HELP!!! Computer board blow out

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ROOKIETURNER

HELP!!! I am very new to this. I have turned about 12 wood pens and 3 acrylics. So I am very very green.

I fell in love with acrylics, so I purchased a number of blanks and turned a few.

WOW! What an awesome look and feel. So of course I jumped head first and purchased a blue and green computer board pen kit frmo WOODCRAFT. I have watched 2 of them being turned by a much more seasoned turner.

Under his watch, not that careful because he was helping 2 other rookies, I began to roundout the green pen. All was good, when BOOM!!! A huge chunk came flying at me. I stopped, wanted to tear up, and removed the blank. A chunk down to the board was missing. Even tore a resistor off with it.

Oh well, there is always to blue kit. I milled it and put it on the lathe. Rounding began and all was good. I was able to fully round the blank (15 minutes of timid and sweat filled turning). I then began to shape the blank into a nice soft curve. BOOM!!! This time a band of cracks and pits rattled off the blank. I stopped it, and sure enough several of the pits went all the way down to the board.

What the heck am I doing wrong? Tools are sharp. Speed right around 1200rpm. Soft gentle touch. HELP!!!

Also, not having worked with PR, can someone help me with the recasting?

Thank you!

Rob

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

wb7whi

cant you just put everything back together with CA and finish the blanks?

I recently turned a circuit board pen and one end blew off. I clamped a small piece of wood and wax paper to the end and filled it with CA. The next day it turned just fine. Cant tell where it was filled.

If you are new to this exotic form of torture then I suspect your tools may not be very sharp. Get with a mentor (you must have a wood turning club in the area) and let him show you the tricks.

ROOKIETURNER

cant you just put everything back together with CA and finish the blanks?