Help, Christmas emergency

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

fergusrb

Hi, I mostly lurk, but now I have a Christmas emergency. I made a Rockler flat top pen for my wife and everything worked ok and she really liked it. She asked if I could make more and I said sure I am an expert now:) Now I think God is putting me in my place. The second pen same type is for a Christmas present. I chose buckeye burl and it really turned out nice. Only problem is the point will not turn in or out. If I get it out and turn it counter clockwise the pen unscrews. Well yesterday I did an other maple burl and it is sitting on the mandrel still. Now I am really gun shy about putting it together. This is were I need help. With this kit the tube sits outside the blank about 1/4" and is for the center band. I says to put it on and if loose glue with a little Ca. I pressed mine on. I can't remember how the first pen went. It says you can make adjustments by sanding the tube, but if it is pressed on you can't get it off to adjust. The other thing is you screw the finial on to the bushing and place it on top of the completed pen and press it in. When I did it and felt it stop there was a small gap. I unscrewed the pen top and useing just the top pressed it in completely. The same thing happened on the first pen and it worked.
I don't know if my problem is with the center band or pressing in the top. One last thing, on doing the next pen I used a drill motor to spin the brass tubes to clean them with and this time I distored one.