Hee hee hee... I found the secret!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Firefyter-emt

to turning tru-stone that is! As I was putting the last passes on a pen mill with my metal lathe it dawned on me that the metal lathe might put a big dent in this blue lapis Jr. Statesman I have been working on for maybe six months! :D

Oh man, what a diffrence! I left just a few mils on the blank to finish off by hand, but I was taking off .060" a pass! From rough blank to almost to size in say, two minutes tops! BwaHaaaaa!!! [}:)]

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

follow3

Hey,

I bought a metal lathe recently, just to make bushings and small parts. It is an old unimat.

Any tips on how I can learn to use it? Like what tools to use when and what speed etc...

Thanks,
Steve

jcollazo

I got the Microlux 7x14 a few weeks ago and love it. I love the metal lathe so much that I just got a ToolsNow (Cummins) 7x12 to turn into a CNC machine.

Check the Little Machine Shop (www.littlemachineshop.com) for more information on running the lathes and links to other metal lathe sites. They also have a pdf of a mini lathe users guide. It's much more complete than the manual that came with the lathe.

One piece of tooling you may want to look in to is a quick change tool post (QTCP). It greatly speeds up your operations.

badger

I have one of the Taig Mini lathes, and couldn't be happier, I've done some complex pieces and it works great.

I got mine as a gift from a freind, but they are not that expensive.

I love this idea btw, I've got to turn some tru stone for the first time soon, and i think this might be a good first step to get it into round.

redfishsc

Badger, just know that not all trustones are hard to turn like the blue lapis. I had no problems with the blue lapis since I keep a diamond hone very close by for my skew, but it does require frequent resharpenings with HSS chisels.