Heat setting resins

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

rtparso

I am a complete newbee about using casting resins for pens but have use some for other tasks. Many years ago I was involved in a project that used heat to set the resins. Any one tried that? Seems like it might help with some of the problems I have been reading about. I think they used low heat from heat lamps.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JimGo

Ron,
Please tell me (us) more. After my troubles this weekend, I'm certainly open to suggestions that make it more effective.

rtparso

Sorry I was not doing the resin work. All I remenber was that they were having trouble, I think with cracking, and they used heat to set the resin. I don't know if they used heat only or heat with catalist. I do remember that an artist was using heat for some large spheres. Also dosn't the amount of catalist effect the hardness??

JimGo

I'm not sure. I was wondering whether casting it under a vacuum might help, too (though that would make it a little colder, at least for a while).

coach

If you use the correct amount of catalyst, you should have no problems at all. Just make sure you mix it completely. I turned one of my resin blanks last night.

PenWorks

Jim, don't complicate things. Unless you want to experiment in casting with vacume & heat.
But like coach says, using the right amount of catylst works just fine. I have tried an over dose of catylst to see what happens. The mix in the mold gets real HOT, almost to hot to hold. It was a clear cast with snake skins. I new it was going to be scrap. Turned out, just like glass, very brittle, even drop some and it shattered. Try staying in that 7 drops to 1 oz using the PR resin.

scturner