Guitar string pen

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JimB

I've only been turning pens for a couple months and have had a special request. My wife's co-worker who provided me with guitar strings for burning has asked if I can use guitar strings as part of a pen. He wants me to use strings from his father who passed away last year. He wants me to make 7 pens that he can give to family members. I did a search on here but couldn't find anything. I think I have 3 choices after turning the pen:

1) Cut a groove(s) like I would for a burn and CA the wire into it. The wire will try to straighten so this will probably be in several steps.
2) Make a center band out of the guitar string. I have no idea how to do this other than wrap the wire around a dowel (or something else the right size) that is oil coated and use CA to glue it together into a center band.
3)Cut grooves into the (top)barrel going length wise and CA the wire into it.

The customer knows I am new at all this and that I am researching how to do it. He has also left it wide open as to what style pen and how much guitar string I would use in the pen.

I appreciate any help, advice or tips anyone can offer even if it's "Hey newbie, don't even try this". Thanks everyone.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jtate

Are they metal or nylon strings?

You could cut the string lengthwise to match the length of the tubes, attach then to the tubes and then cast in PR

wudnhed

What if you painted your tubes black and randomly wrapped the guitar string around the tubes (maybe in sections) then cast in PR?

les-smith

Here's a few thoughts:

1) Wrap the strings around a colored brass tube and then cast it in clear resin. You could then turn the pen and the string would show through. I'm sure if this appeals to you someone would help by casting some for you.

2) Wad up a string/strings throw it in a mold and cast it in some way. It may give a swirly ribbon look when turned.