Grizzly mini

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Aerotech

So i buy this tiny little lathe because i convince myself the only thing i will ever turn is a pen. its cute, trust me...

so, the problem. i buy a standard #1 MT mandrel from Woodcraft and when i put it into the head stock it bottoms out before filling the hole. needless to say is had a pretty loose fit and i'm no pro but i'm thinking thats a bad thing.

does anybody know of a stubby #1 MT or should i go with the pen mandrel that PSI carries that threads onto the lathe. or i suppose i can do what Woodcraft told me to do and grind off the back of the mandrel to make it fit. my concern with that would be accuracy. any advice would be greatly appreciated.

btw, the lathe is a grizzly G9247. you can see it on grizzly's site if you want to see what i mean about not having a pass through head stock.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

hilltopper46

Bummer!!

I looked at the manual for that lathe on Grizzly's web site. I'm not sure, but it looks like the MT does not have a hole that goes all the way through the head stock.

I would take a hack saw and see if I could cut the MT on the pen mandrel. Use the spur center that came with the lathe as a guide. Mark where it comes out of the headstock and try to judge the length of the MT on the mandrel to be that long from the point on the MT with the same diameter.

Aerotech

Yeah..... The manual doesn't say much. The legnth of the spur center is approximately 2.125 inches and the overall depth of the head stock is approximately 2.3125. i was hoping i could find something without having to modify a perfectly good tool. PSI carries a universal that screws onto the 3/4 x 16tpi head stock. has anyone ever used a screw on type???

itsmebill