Gouge question...

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Palmetto_Dave

Being brand spanking new around here, I have seen several posts about gouges and how to sharpen and whatnot. I'll be getting a Rikon lathe in a week or so, but have no idea as to what gouges I need for turning pens. It is my understanding (by reading your posts...) that I probably only need 3 gouges, but I don't know what 3 I need! Is it a better idea just to purchase one of the 5 pc, or 6 pc sets I see advertised?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

negid

I'm very new to turning and didn't have a whole lot of start up money so I purchased a cheaper Benjamin's Best Pen Turner's set from PSI for about $30. It has a 3/8" Gouge, Skew, and Parting Tool. I mostly use the gouge and have had good results.

http://www.pennstateind.com/store/lcpm3.html

But of course if you can afford a more expensive set, all the better.

Palmetto_Dave

No... I'm quite on a budget. That's why I am going with the Rikon lathe. But I have noticed, it seems very few posters on this board use the Rikon. Makes me question myself a little...

I do appreciate your response.

Texatdurango

I started out last year buying sets of everything and now basically use a skew 95% of the time with a 1" roughing gouge and parting tool the other 5%. I have tools I will probably never use so I wouldn't recommend a set of anything for turning pens.

Dave,
I have never used the Rikon, but I just picked up my second lathe this past week, a Jet 1442 - I also have a Jet 1014 that my son gave me when he decided he didn't have time to use it.. But I did notice that the Woodcraft store where I got my new lathe had all Rikon's in their classroom.. I would venture you made a good purchase.